unesco werelderfgoed

UNESCO World Heritage

unesco werelderfgoed

Each World Heritage Site tells a special story. It is heritage that is unique and irreplaceable in the world. Only UNESCO can designate a heritage site (area and/or building) as World Heritage. The Kingdom of the Netherlands has twelve sites that are UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

The World Heritage sites: Schokland and Surroundings, the Defence Line of Amsterdam, the Mill Network at Kinderdijk-Elshout, the D.F. Wouda Steam Pumping Station, Willemstad Curaçao, The Beemster Polder, Rietveld Schröder House, Wadden Sea, the Amsterdam Canal District, the Van Nelle Factory, the Colonies of Benevolence, the Dutch Waterlines and the Lower German Limes.


With the 'Cycle routes UNESCO World Heritage' you cycle along all the UNESCO World Heritage in the Netherlands. The routes allow you to experience why this heritage is seen by UNESCO as 'unique with universal values for mankind' and thus has the status of World Heritage. Find out for yourself why these twelve places are unique in the world and jump on the bike for one of these special theme routes!

UNESCO Werelderfgoed Koninkrijk der Nederlanden
                                                                          Offered by Stichting Werelderfgoed Nederland
Green bike icon Themaroutes
Green eye icon Onderweg te zien en te doen