Mill Rijn en Lek - Wijk bij Duurstede
This unique mill is built in the middle of a city gate. The Rijn en Lek corn mill was originally built in 1659-1660. For a long time, the mill has been furnished as a corn mill with two pairs of millstones. In 1924 the Rijn en Lek was for sale and threatened the demolition of this unique mill. A local committee opposed this and in 1929 enabled the then young Vereniging De Hollandse Molen (Association The Dutch Mill) in Amsterdam to buy the mill and the gate. In 1934 the first restoration was commissioned by De Hollandsche Molen. On 6 September 1944 the windmill ran aground during a heavy storm. Attempts to bring the mill to a standstill resulted in heavy damage. Restorations followed in 1960, 1964, 1980-1981, 1995 and 1997-1998. Since 1972 voluntary millers have been operating the mill.
Mill Rijn en Lek
3961 AA Wijk bij Duurstede
|Saturday||12:30 - 17:00|
|Sunday||12:30 - 17:00|
Visits can also be made by appointment.