Foto ter illustratie
Stones of the Salvations

Stones of the Salvations - Reusel

N 51.325937145246 / E 5.187939801

In 2001, the Heemkunde Werkgroep Reusel designed the monument the Stones of Salvation. The eight stones symbolise the eight villages of the Eight Salvations: Eersel, Duizel (formerly Duijsel), Hulsel, Knegsel, Netersel, Reusel, Steensel, Wintelre (Wintersel). The natural stones have been shaped exactly to scale and in wind direction, so that they represent the villages as well as possible.

Each of the villages has been assigned its own Beatitude, just as Jesus of Nazareth in the Sermon on the Mount talks about eight Beatitudes or Beatitudes in order to be saved. Nowadays we tend to describe the term 'blessed' as the Bible means it, rather as 'happy'.

1. Wintelre: The poor in spirit.
Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven.

2. Eersel: The meek.
Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit it for a long time.

3. Duizel: The Mourners.
Blessed are those who weep, for they shall be comforted.

4. Hull: The hungry for righteousness.
Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness, for they shall be filled.

5. Reusel: The merciful.
Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.

6. Steensel: The pure in heart.
Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.

7. Knegsel: The Peaceful.
Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.

8. Netersel: The Persecuted.
Blessed are those who suffer persecution for righteousness' sake, for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven.

Foto ter illustratie

Stones of the Salvations
Burgemeester Willekenslaan
5541 NA Reusel

Contact details

No reviews were found for this pitstop.
Write a review

Did you visit this location? Help us and write a review.

Select the number of stars you award to this location (based on a maximum of 5 stars) and tell us about your experience

For safety, we want to make sure that you are a human being.